The Complete Oscars 2017 Winners List

Coming into the event as red hot favorites to sweep the board, La La Land would end up with just the 6 awards from their 14 nominations. A feat that is still remarkable in the context of Oscars history. The moment of the evening on Sunday would arrive right at the crescendo, seeing Warren Beatty and Faye Dunaway mistakenly giving the musical the Best Picture award before the awkward mixup left Moonlight to sheepishly approach the stage.

The four big individual winners on the night were Casey Affleck and Mahershala Ali on the men's side, while Emma Stone and Viola Davis won Best Actress and Best Supporting Actress respectively. Here is the complete list of winners and nominees during an exhaustive, political and controversial ceremony.

Confusion Overshadows The Grand Moment

Warren Beatty Oscars

Best Picture

Moonlight (WINNER)

Nominees: La La Land, ArrivalFences, Hacksaw Ridge, Hell or High WaterHidden Figures, Lion, Manchester by the Sea 

Best Actress

Emma Stone (La La Land) (WINNER)

Nominees: Isabelle Huppert (Elle), Ruth Negga (Loving), Natalie Portman (Jackie), Meryl Streep (Florence Foster Jenkins)

Best Actor

Casey Affleck (Manchester by the Sea) (WINNER)

Nominees: Denzel Washington (Fences), Andrew Garfield (Hacksaw Ridge), Ryan Gosling (La La Land), Viggo Mortensen (Captain Fantastic)

Best Director

Damien Chazelle (La La Land) (WINNER)

Nominees: Denis Villeneuve (Arrival), Mel Gibson (Hacksaw Ridge), Kenneth Lonergan (Manchester by the Sea), Barry Jenkins (Moonlight)

Best Supporting Actress

Viola Davis (Fences) (WINNER)

Nominees: Naomie Harris (Moonlight), Nicole Kidman (Lion), Octavia Spencer (Hidden Figures), Michelle Williams (Manchester by the Sea)

Best Supporting Actor

Mahershala Ali (Moonlight) (WINNER)

Nominees: Jeff Bridges (Hell or High Water), Lucas Hedges (Manchester by the Sea), Dev Patel (Lion), Michael Shannon (Nocturnal Animals)

Best Production Design

La La Land (Production design: David Wasco; Set decoration: Sandy Reynolds-Wasco) (WINNER)

Nominees: Arrival (Production design: Patrice Vermette; Set decoration: Paul Hotte), Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (Production design: Stuart Craig; Set decoration: Anna Pinnock), Hail, Caesar! (Production design: Jess Gonchor; Set decoration: Nancy Haigh), Passengers (Production design: Guy Hendrix Dyas; Set decoration: Gene Serdena)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Moonlight (Barry Jenkins; Story by Tarell Alvin McCraney) (WINNER)

Nominees: Arrival (Eric Heisserer), Fences (August Wilson), Hidden Figures (Allison Schroeder, Theodore Melfi), Lion (Luke Davies)

Best Original Screenplay

Manchester by the Sea (Kenneth Lonergan) (WINNER)

Nominees: Hell or High Water (Taylor Sheridan), La La Land (Damien Chazelle), The Lobster (Yorgos Lanthimos, Efthymis Filippou), 20th Century Women (Mike Mills)

Best Cinematography

La La Land (Linus Sandgren) (WINNER)

Nominees: Arrival (Bradford Young), Lion (Greig Fraser), Moonlight (James Laxton), Silence (Rodrigo Prieto)

Best Visual Effects

The Jungle Book (Robert Legato, Adam Valdez, Andrew R. Jones and Dan Lemmon) (WINNER)

Nominees: Deepwater Horizon (Craig Hammack, Jason Snell, Jason Billington and Burt Dalton), Doctor Strange (Stephane Ceretti, Richard Bluff, Vincent Cirelli and Paul Corbould), Kubo and the Two Strings (Steve Emerson, Oliver Jones, Brian McLean and Brad Schiff), Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (John Knoll, Mohen Leo, Hal Hickel and Neil Corbould)

Fringe Players Now Heavyweights 

Best Makeup & Hairstyling

Suicide Squad (Alessandro Bertolazzi, Giorgio Gregorini and Christopher Nelson) (WINNER)

Nominees: A Man Called Ove (Eva von Bahr and Love Larson), Star Trek Beyond (Joel Harlow and Richard Alonzo)

Best Costume Design

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (Colleen Atwood) (WINNER)

Nominees: Allied (Joanna Johnston), Florence Foster Jenkins (Consolata Boyle), Jackie (Madeline Fontaine), La La Land (Mary Zophres)

Best Animated Feature

Zootopia (Byron Howard, Rich Moore and Clark Spencer) (WINNER)

Nominees: Kubo and the Two Strings (Travis Knight and Arianne Sutner), Moana (John Musker, Ron Clements and Osnat Shurer), My Life as a Zucchini (Claude Barras and Max Karli), The Red Turtle (Michael Dudok de Wit and Toshio Suzuki)

Best Animated Short

Piper (Alan Barillaro and Marc Sondheimer) (WINNER)

Nominees: Blind Vaysha (Theodore Ushev), Borrowed Time (Andrew Coats and Lou Hamou-Lhadj), Pear Cider and Cigarettes (Robert Valley and Cara Speller), Pearl (Patrick Osborne)

Best Sound Editing

Arrival (Sylvain Bellemare) (WINNER)

Nominees: Deepwater Horizon (Wylie Stateman and Renée Tondelli), Hacksaw Ridge (Robert Mackenzie and Andy Wright), La La Land (Ai-Ling Lee and Mildred Iatrou Morgan), Sully (Alan Robert Murray and Bub Asman)

Best Sound Mixing

Hacksaw Ridge (Kevin O’Connell, Andy Wright, Robert Mackenzie and Peter Grace) (WINNER)

Nominees: La La Land (Andy Nelson, Ai-Ling Lee and Steve A. Morrow), Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (David Parker, Christopher Scarabosio and Stuart Wilson), 13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi (Greg P. Russell, Gary Summers, Jeffrey J. Haboush and Mac Ruth), Arrival (Bernard Gariepy Strobl and Claude La Haye)

Best Documentary Feature

O.J.: Made in America (Ezra Edelman and Caroline Waterlow) (WINNER)

Nominees: Fire at Sea (Gianfranco Rosi and Donatella Palermo), I Am Not Your Negro (Raoul Peck, Remi Grellety and Hebert Peck), Life, Animated (Roger Ross Williams and Julie Goldman), 13th (Ava DuVernay, Spencer Averick and Howard Barish)

Best Foreign-Language Film

The Salesman (Iran - Asghar Farhadi) (WINNER)

Nominees: Land of Mine (Denmark - Martin Pieter Zandvliet), A Man Called Ove (Sweden -  Hannes Holm), Tanna (Australia - Bently Dean, Martin Butler), Toni Erdmann (Germany - Maren Ade)

Best Film Editing

Hacksaw Ridge (John Gilbert) (WINNER)

Nominees: Arrival (Joe Walker), Hell or High Water (Jake Roberts), La La Land (Tom Cross), Moonlight (Joi McMillon, Nat Sanders)

Best Original Song

"City of Stars," from La La Land (Music by Justin Hurwitz, lyrics by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul) (WINNER)

Nominees: "Audition (The Fools Who Dream)," from La La Land (Music by Justin Hurwitz, lyrics by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul), "Can’t Stop the Feeling," from Trolls (Music and lyrics by Justin Timberlake, Max Martin and Karl Johan Schuster), "The Empty Chair," from Jim: The James Foley Story (Music and lyrics by J. Ralph and Sting), "How Far I'll Go," from Moana (Music and lyrics by Lin-Manuel Miranda)

Best Original Score

La La Land (Justin Hurwitz) (WINNER)

Nominees: Jackie (Mica Levi), Lion (Dustin O'Halloran and Hauschka), Moonlight (Nicholas Britell), Passengers (Thomas Newman)

Best Documentary Short

The White Helmets (Orlando von Einsiedel and Joanna Natasegara) (WINNER)

Nominees: Extremis (Dan Krauss), 4.1 Miles (Daphne Matziaraki), Joe’s Violin (Kahane Cooperman and Raphaela Neihausen), Watani: My Homeland (Marcel Mettelsiefen and Stephen Ellis)

Best Live-Action Short

Sing (Kristof Deak and Anna Udvardy) (WINNER)

Nominees: Ennemis Interieurs (Selim Azzazi), La Femme et le TGV (Timo von Gunten and Giacun Caduff), Silent Nights (Aske Bang and Kim Magnusson), Timecode (Juanjo Gimenez)

Source: THR